How does New Jersey punish cheating and swindling in casinos?

| Oct 2, 2019 | Casino Crimes

When you visit Atlantic City, you have the option to visit the beach, walk on the famous boardwalk or eat at the local restaurants. But like most visitors of the city, you likely came to gamble at the casinos.

Atlantic City is known for its casino resorts. And New Jersey regulates and protects those casinos with the New Jersey Casino Control Commission. While the Commission spends a lot of time making sure casinos follow certain laws, it also protects casinos from those who choose to cheat or swindle.

Cheating and swindling laws

New Jersey takes cheating and swindling in casinos seriously. If a gambler uses a trick, sleight of hand or fraud to cheat the casino out of money, the casino can press charges for each attempt at swindling. A court can charge each attempt separately, so if a gambler tries to cheat multiple tables, each time can be a separate charge.

Penalties for cheating and swindling

If police arrest you for swindling and cheating, the penalties can be stiff. Charges depend on how much money a casino claims you tried to swindle and cheat. The limits are:

  • Less than $200 – Disorderly persons offense
  • Between $200 and $500 – Fourth degree crime
  • More than $500 – Third degree crime
  • More than $75,000 – Second degree crime

However, courts can combine the amounts casinos claim you swindled to bump up the charge. If you went out to multiple places in one night, a judge can combine the amount of money you tried to win in each attempt and then charge each attempt at that combined amount.

New Jersey is strict on cheating casinos

New Jersey penalties for swindling and cheating can be stiff. And casinos keep a sharp eye out for cheating. They will not be afraid to press charges.

When you go to Atlantic City, you hope to walk away with more money than you came. But if police arrest you for swindling and cheating, you can lose much more than some money.